Irish Animation Awards 2019

Animation Ireland announces the Irish Animation Awards 2019 nominations

Animation Ireland has announced the nominees for the third Irish Animation Awards which will take place in Dingle on Saturday, March 23rd, home to the Dingle Film Festival and Animation Dingle.

The awards are sponsored by RTÉ, Screen Ireland, Animation Skillnet, Philip Lee, Celaction, Screen Skills Ireland, Brophy Gillespie and Gorilla Post.

We would like to express our gratitude to the esteemed IAA judging panel for generously giving their time and expertise, and helping us on our mission to celebrate the outstanding creative talent we have within the Irish Animation, VFX and gaming industries.  We also have judges from two National Schools who are currently deliberating on the ‘Kids Choice Awards’- this shortlist will be available in the coming weeks!

Animation Ireland

Animation Ireland expressed thanks to everyone who has entered. There was a significant increase in entries since previous Irish Animation Awards, reflecting the substantial growth in the industry.

And the nominees are…

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years)

  • Claude- Sixteen South
  • Doc McStuffins Christmas Special- Brown Bag Films
  • Pablo: Back and Forth -Paper Owl Films
  • Pete the Cat: Sandcastles- Amazon/Cartoon Saloon         
  • Vampirina: Going Batty – Brown Bag Films

Best Animated Short Film

  • The Overcoat- Sean Mullen/ Giant Animation
  • Angela’s Christmas -Damien O’Connor/ Brown Bag Films
  • The Wireman -Jessica Patterson/ JAM Media
  • Late Afternoon– Louise Bagnall/ Cartoon Saloon
  • The Bird and the Whale- Carol Freeman/ Paper Panther

Best International Short Film

  • All the Things- Chris Guyot & Paul McMahon
  • My Mother’s Eyes- Jenny Wright
  • The Masque of Blackness– Epoh Beech

Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years)

  • Becca’s Bunch: Acorn King– Amy Stephenson & Shane Langan 
  • Claude- Ciarán Morrison & Mick O’Hara/ Sixteen South
  • Peek Zoo- Emma Hogan/ Dream Logic Studios
  • Mya Go Karting– Amy Stephenson & Shane Langan/ Piranha Bar
  • Doc McStuffins Christmas Special– Chris Nee, Brown Bag Films

Best Writer for an Animated Series

  • Space Chickens in Space: Food Fight -Kristina Yee/Gingerbread Animation
  • Space Chickens in Space: Alpha Chuck -Mike Heneghan/ Gingerbread Animation
  • Space Chickens in Space: Floofy Flibby Kiss-Kiss- Ciarán Morrison & Mick O’Hara / Gingerbread Animation
  • Transformers Cyberverse: Megatron Is My Hero -Peter Di Cicco/Boulder Media
  • Vampirina: Home Scream Home -Chris Nee/ Brown Bag Films

Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film

  • Becca’s Bunch -Niall Mooney, Marc Bell, Mark Byrne/JAM Media
  • Brain Freeze 3 -Ian ‘Benjamin’ Kenny/ Kite Entertainment, Turnip & Duck
  • Space Chickens in Space – Paul Ruttledge/ Gingerbread Animation
  • Cúl an Tí: Laoi an Lagáin -Lily Bernard & Cúl an Tí team/ Cartoon Saloon
  • Pete The Cat: Blackout!– Amazon/Cartoon Saloon

Best Animation for Apps, Gaming and Interactive

  • Aurora– Pink Kong Studios
  • Eden Isle: Resort Paradise– Simeractive
  • Get Curious -Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Hungry Caterpillar Play School -Touchpress
  • Pablo’s Art World Adventure -Paper Owl Films

Best Design and Art Direction

  • The Bird and the Whale– Carol Freeman/ Paper Panther Productions
  • Cúl An Tí: Fé Blath– Ross Stewart/ Cartoon Saloon
  • Deposits-Trevor Courtney/ Igloo Animations
  • Becca’s Bunch: Legendary– Conor Finnegan, Niall Mooney, Rafa Diaz Canales/ JAM Media
  • Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes– Hugh Farley & Ian Kenny

Best Director of an Animated TV Series

  • Danger Mouse– Aidan McAteer &  Rob Cullen/ Boulder Media
  • Littlest Pet Shop -Gillian Comerford/Boulder Media
  • Peek Zoo– Kealan O’Rourke/ Dream Logic Studios
  • Space Chickens in Space– Tommy & Markus Vad Flaaten/ Gingerbread Animation
  • The Day Henry Met- Gary Gill/ Wiggleywoo

Best Animation

  • Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes– Hugh Farley & Ian Kenny
  • Hopscotch and the Christmas Tree– Tim Frost/ Ink & Light & Kinomind Films
  • Pete the Cat -John Peavoy, Dave Ridges, John Walsh/ Cartoon Saloon     
  • The Bird and the Whale– Eimhin McNamara & Carol Freeman/ Paper Panther  
  • Vampirina: Acrobat Boris – Matteo Ceccotti/ Brown Bag Films Team

Best Music

  • Danger Mouse: Melted– Sanj Sen and Dominic Lawrence /Boulder Media & Windmill Lane
  • Peek Zoo- Niall Byrne/ Dream Logic Studios
  • Late Afternoon– Colm Mac Con Iomaire/Cartoon Saloon
  • The Doc McStuffins Christmas Special– Stuart Kollmorgen/Brown Bag Films
  • The Bird and The Whale– Chris McLoughlin/ Paper Panther Productions

Best Sound Design

  • Angela’s Christmas– Steven Maher and Peter Blayney/ Brown Bag Films
  • Danger Mouse– Dominic Lawrence and Sol O’Carroll/ Windmill Lane
  • Pins and Needles– James Nolan/ Brown Bag Films
  • Space Chickens in Space – Shane O’Toole, Barry Reid,Mark Fitzpatrick/Gorilla Post
  • Transformers: Matrix of Leadership – Dominic Lawrence, Simon Bird and Ryan Quinn/ Windmill Lane

Best Irish Feature Film or Special

  • Angela’s Christmas– Damien O’Connor/ Brown Bag Films
  • Captain Morten the Spider Queen– Kaspar Jancis, Telegael
  • Hopscotch and the Christmas Tree– Katerina Vykhodtsev, Ink & Light
  • The Breadwinner– Nora Twomey, Cartoon Saloon

Best Newcomer (New Category!)

  • Daily Madness
  • Paper Panther
  • Pink Kong Studios
  • Radii Animation
  • The Rusted Pixel

Kid’s Choice Award For Best  Preschool Animated Series (up to 6 years)

Nominees announced end of February.

Kid’s Choice Award For Best  Animated Series (6-12 years

Nominees announced end of February.

Irish Animation Awards 2019 Sponsors
More Stories
Ciné Court Animé
#IrishAbroad: Two Irish animated shorts win at the 2017 Ciné Court Animé festival