Irish Animation Awards

#Industry: All the winners from the second annual Irish Animation Awards

The Irish Animation Awards held their second annual awards ceremony at Animation Dingle over the weekend.

Tomm Moore and Cartoon Saloon took home the big prize of Best Irish Feature Film or Special for their wonderful (and Oscar-nominated) Song of the Sea. JAM Media’s Roy took home two prizes, the coveted Kids Choice Award for Best Animated Series and Best Writer for an Animated Series for Mark Hodkinson. Little Roy similarly received two awards, nabbing Best Director and Best Animation for Apps and Gaming.

Vincent Gallagher’s multi-award-winning Second to None continued to clean up, taking home the award for Best Animated Short Film.

The robust health of the Irish animation indistry was evident in force, with awards being sent to the various different animation studios around the country, for titles as differing as Sixteen South’s Lily’s Driftwood Bay, Boulder Media’s Danger Mouse, Boulder and Giant Animations’ Go Jetters, Cartoon Saloon’s Puffin Rock, Brown Bag Films’ Doc McStuffins, and Wiggleywoo’s The Day Henry Met

Legendary Irish animation figure, Aidan Hickey, was the recipeient of the prestigious Murakami Award, an award gifted for service to the industry.

The awards, sponsored by RTÉ Jr, The Irish Film Board & Philip Lee, took place in Dingle on Saturday March 25th.

The Irish Animation Awards was created to acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding creative talent we have within the Irish Animation, VFX and gaming.

The IAA note that there was a significant increase in entries since the first Irish Animation Awards, reflecting the substantial growth in the industry.

The Winners

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years)

Lily's Driftwood Bay

  • Lily’s Driftwood Bay – Sixteen South Production Team

Kids Choice Award for Best Animated Series


  • Roy – JAM Media Production team

Best Animated Short Film

Second to None

  • Second to None – Vincent Gallagher

Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years)

Doc McStuffins

  • Doc McStuffins: Welcome to McStuffinsville – Chris Nee, Kent Redeker

Best Writer for an Animated Series


  • Roy: ROY 2.0 – Mark Hodkinson

Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film

Go Jetters

  • Go Jetters – Rob Fletcher, Mario Bortas, Rodrigo Rocha

Best Animation for Apps and Gaming

Little Roy's Wonder Doodler

  • Little Roy’s Wonder Doodler – Niall Mooney: Director, Will Wivell: Animator

Best Student

Devine Intervention

  • Devine Intervention

Best Design / Art Direction

Puffin Rock

  • Puffin Rock – Lily Bernard, Stefano Scapolan

Best Director of an Animated TV Series

Little Roy

  • Little Roy – Alan Shannon

Best Animation

The Day Henry Met a Camera

  • The Day Henry Met a Camera – Gilly: Director, Susan Broe: Producer, Andrew Dawson: Animation Director

Best Music/Sound Design

Danger Mouse

  • Danger Mouse – Dominic Lawrence: Supervising Sound Editor & Dubbing Mixer, Sol OCarroll: Sound Editor, Andy Kirwan: Sound Editor

Best Irish Feature Film or Special

Song of the Sea

  • Song of the Sea – Tomm Moore

Murakiami Award

Aidan Hickey

  • Aidan Hickey
More Stories
Dublin Animation Film Festival 2019
Call for Entries for Dublin Animation Film Festival 2019